Birkenhead Bowling Club Inc. Birkenhead Bowling Club Inc. Birkenhead Bowling Club Inc.

Results 2011/2012 Season

Birkenhead Club Championships 2011-12:

Women's Championship Singles
Winner Ruth Lynch
Runner Up Gayle Melrose

Men's Championship Singles
Winner Peter Nathan
Runner up Merv Garred

Women's Championship Pairs
Winner D Samuel C Peers
Runner-up Ruth Lynch Carole Frederick

Men's Championship Pairs
Winner John Janssen (S), Paul Freeth
Runner-up Nigel Drew (S) Lionel Drew 

Women's Championship Triples
Winner Ruth Lynch
Runner-up Gayle Melrose

Men's Championship Triples
Winner: Roy Parker (Skip) John Janssen (Two) Steve Doolan (Lead
Runner up: John Hindmarch (Skip) Marty Short (Two) Garry Banks (Lead)

Women's Championship Triples
Winners Ruth Lynch (S), Carole Fredrick, Sharon Sowry

Men's Championship Fours
Winners Dennis Mathews (S), Garry Moverley, Kieth Burgess,Mike Hitchcock
Runners-up Merv Garred (S), Mark Rumble, Kevin George, Bruce Cochrane

Women's Championship Fours
Winners Carole Fredrick (S), Ruth Lynch, Gayle Melrose, Lisa Helmling
Runners-up Rose Wilson (S), Emmie Swart, Trish Mahon, Tracey Jenner 

Women's First Year Singles

Men's First Year Singles

Women's Junior Championship Singles
Winner Adele Ineson
Runner-up Ruth Hitchcock

Men's Junior Championship Singles
Winner; Alex Stewart
Runner up; Arthur Dewar
Women's Junior Championship Pairs
Winners; Carolyn Tasker (Skip)  Ruth Hitchcock
Runners up: Mavis Smith (Skip) Trish Mahon

Men's Junior Pairs
Winners: Steven Yates (Skip) Garry Banks (Lead)
Runners up: John Croy (Skip) Mike Hitchcock (Lead)

Women's Junior Triples

Men's Junior Fours
Winners Steven Yates (S), John Stewart, Arthur Dewar, Alan Little
Runners-up Garry Cooley (S), John Croy, Tommie Winton, Malcom Hall

Leads & Twos
Winner Kevin George (S) Arthur Dewar
Runner-up John Croy (S) David Harrison

Alan Meekings Memorial (Fours)
Winners Shaun Bayne (S) Curtis Ennor, Mark Rumble, Sharon Sowry
Runners-up Ruth Lynch (S), John Hindmarch, Dennis McSweeney, Hogan Wu

2011 NZ OPEN 

The following Club members qualified for the NZ Open;


John Hindmarch, Martin Short, Garry Banks (Birkenhead Team)

Carole Frederick, Ruth Lynch, Lisa Helmling (birkenhead Team)

Rod Mahon, (Composite Team)

Gayle Melrose (Composite Team)


Merv Garred & Mark Rumble
Dennis Matthews & Kieth Burgess
Shaun Bayne & Colin Bouzaid
Martin Short & Garry Banks
Rod Mahon & Composite


Garry Banks
Lance Tasker
John Janssen



North Harbour Mixed Pairs

Congatulations to Carole Frederick and Randall Watkins runners up in the North Harbour 2-4-2 mixed pairs.

2011 Inter-Club Results:

Birkenhead fielded 5 x Mens Team's and 1 x Women's team, the results were the best in the Clubs history with first place in Premier 1 & 2 and division A with division B & E finishing second. The women were unlucky, going into the last day in second place to Browns Bay with a good chance of taking the title they were upset as were Browns Bay by the Greens at Mairangi Bay going down to Mairangi Bay.

Back to top